Starz Arena Logo

IPL Purple Cap Winners List 2024 Guide

Introduction to the IPL Purple Cap Award

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is not just a cricketing extravaganza but a platform where individual brilliance often shines as brightly as team success. Among the numerous accolades, the Purple Cap is a prestigious award recognizing the tournament’s leading wicket-taker.

Evolution of the IPL Purple Cap Award

The inception of the Purple Cap award dates back to the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008. Initially introduced as a means to celebrate the standout bowlers, it has since become an integral part of the IPL narrative.

Criteria for Winning the IPL Purple Cap

The IPL Purple Cap is awarded to the bowler who takes the most wickets during the IPL season. In case of a tie, the award is given to the bowler with a superior economy rate.

Notable IPL Purple Cap Winners

Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils) | 2012

In the 2012 IPL, Morne Morkel, who was 1.96 meters tall, caused batters to struggle with his raw velocity and bounce. The South African bowler claimed 25 wickets in 16 matches to win the Purple Cap.

Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings) | 2013

Dwayne Bravo was a vital member of the CSK team when he batted and played the ball. The Windies all-rounder broke above the 30-wicket mark for the first time in 2013 and had a breakthrough campaign. Bravo needed 18 games and 32 wickets to claim the Purple Cap.

Dwayne Bravo

Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings) | 2014

For several seasons, the CSK wore the Purple Cap, but this time, Mohit Sharma wore it proudly on his head. With a strike percentage 14.04, the Indian pacer claimed 23 wickets in 16 games.

Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings) | 2015

With a devastating performance in the 2015 IPL, Dwayne Bravo proved he was back at it. The Windies Twenty20 superstar claimed his second Purple Cap after taking 26 wickets in 17 games.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad) | 2016

Proven white-ball specialist Bhuvneshwar Kumar was essential to Sunrisers Hyderabad’s 2016 IPL championship win. The medium-pacer from India finished as the season’s best wicket-taker with 23 scalps in 17 games.

Click here to read about 5 Players Who Have Played for Most IPL Teams.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad) | 2017

The first bowler in IPL history to win the Purple Cap in back-to-back seasons is Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Taking up where he left off in 2016, he amassed 26 wickets at an average of 14.19 in 14 matches.

Andrew Tye (Kings XI Punjab) | 2018

Many Australian batters had made their mark in the tournament’s history before this season, but their bowling counterparts had lagged well behind. But Andrew Tye erased that with his scorching performance for Kings XI Punjab in 2018. The Australian bowler won the Purple Cap by taking 24 wickets in 14 games.

Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings) | 2019

In cricket legend, Imran Tahir’s marathon celebration has its own following, and CSK dubbed him the “Parasakhti Express” as a result. With his leg spin, the South African claimed 26 wickets in 17 matches during an incredible 2019 season.

Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals) | 2020

In 2019, Kagiso Rabada and fellow countryman Tahir battled it out for the Purple Cap, but Rabada lost by a few wickets. However, he achieved his goal in the 2020 season, becoming just the second bowler to reach the record with 30 wickets in 17 games.

Harshal Patel (Royal Challengers Bangalore) | 2021

Harshal Patel claimed 32 wickets in the 2021 edition, using his bowling variations to their fullest potential. He matched the record held by Dwayne Bravo, who took 32 wickets in one IPL season.

Yuzvendra Chahal (Rajasthan Royals) | 2022

Yuzvendra Chahal was the third spinner to win the Purple Cap, and that was in 2022. In just 17 games, Chahal demonstrated his skill with the ball by taking 27 wickets to help RR reach the playoffs.

Mohammed Shami (Gujarat Titans) | 2023

Thanks to a team effort from their bowling assault, which was spearheaded by Mohammed Shami, the Gujarat Titans advanced to their second final. The seasoned Indian bowler won the Purple Cap with 28 wickets in 17 games.

Impact of Winning the IPL Purple Cap

Winning the Purple Cap rewards the bowler personally and highlights his important role in his team’s tournament triumph.

Challenges Faced by IPL Purple Cap Contenders

Bowlers who compete for the Purple Cap face various difficulties, such as intense rivalry from other players, inconsistent pitch conditions, and performance expectations.

Strategies Employed by Bowlers to Win the Purple Cap

Bowlers must frequently possess a combination of technique, precision, and keen game awareness to win the Purple Cap. A key component of their strategy is their ability to outsmart batters and vary their pace and spin.

Controversies Surrounding the Purple Cap Award

Although the Purple Cap represents bowling greatness, disputes over its distribution have occasionally surfaced, with discussions centered on the fairness of tie-breaker regulations and subjective evaluations of players’ accomplishments.

The Role of Bowlers in IPL Success

Bowlers play a pivotal role in shaping the outcome of IPL matches, with their ability to stem the flow of runs and pick up crucial wickets often proving decisive in determining the fate of a game.

Purple Cap Winners’ Contribution to Team Performance

History has shown that teams boasting Purple Cap winners tend to perform well in the IPL, underscoring the invaluable contribution of bowlers towards their team’s overall success.

Analysis of Bowling Trends in IPL

An analysis of bowling trends in the IPL reveals a constant evolution in strategies, with bowlers adapting to changing conditions, refining their skills, and innovating to stay ahead in the game.

Future Prospects of the Purple Cap Award

As the IPL continues to evolve, the significance of the Purple Cap award will likely grow, serving as a perennial source of motivation and recognition for bowlers striving for excellence in the tournament.


In conclusion, the IPL Purple Cap award encapsulates the essence of individual brilliance and sporting excellence in the context of the world’s premier T20 cricket league. As bowlers continue to mesmerize audiences with skill and prowess, the Purple Cap remains a coveted symbol of mastery.

1 thought on “IPL Purple Cap Winners List 2024 Guide”

Leave a Comment